A Pre-Approved Friday Afternoon at the Haikulodeon

Please enjoy.

The haikulodeon

Here’s this week’s heap of haikus:

tanka haiku:

“That’s me with Santa”…
“Why are you on a horse and
not on a reindeer?”

Grandma paused and then whispered,
“Dear, no-one sits on Rudolph.”

(My mom with Santa … circa 1927)


Christmas catalogs
bulge my mailbox, addressed to
previous tenants.

Sure I felt silly,
but I said to myself,  “At least
I’m still in Show Biz!”

(  I’m the hungry-looking one on the right. )

You can dress it up,
but a deuce and a quarter
ain’t no Cadillac.

(Levon Helm and Keith Richards … Two of my faves)


This, in essence, was
the plan our moms had for us;
wear us out, we’d sleep.



The writer just smiled;
he knew thoughts were fleeting, but
wet ink would soon dry.


My Sis with Santa;
.Like little Natalie Wood,
she seemed  … skeptical.


(Two of…

View original post 4,638 more words

Leave a Reply

