Not Suitable For Balloon Lovers

Both my DSLR and my little digital portable camera are currently out of commission. The reasons are various and inconvenient and not worth mentioning here.

The reason that I am so bummed that both my DSLR and my little digital portable camera are currently out of commission is what drives me to write this post.

The reason being twofold. The reason being this:

There is a balloon bouncing in the breeze, nearby.

This balloon is silver, white and blue foil, partially deflated, and tied to a short but sturdy bit of ribbon which is, apparently, tethered to something on the ground. A dead branch, a rock, who knows what it is, but something is keeping the twelve inches or so of ribbon tied to the ground near a nearby neighbor’s tree and the balloon is bobbing up and down about a foot above the ground in the woods near my nearby neighbor’s property.

And the sight is arresting me, for two reasons.

One, it makes me immediately recall a scene from one of my favorite films, “American Beauty”, the plastic bag scene.

Two, it makes me want to film a short clip of the balloon and then make a mock ad that would go something like:

WARNING! This film is not suitable for Balloon Lovers. This film contains footage of an actual Balloon struggling to free itself from a trap. DON’T LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOUR BALLOON. Balloon Lovers everywhere are encouraged to follow safe Balloon Loving practices and keep their Balloons indoors, loved and inflated and…free.

8 thoughts on “Not Suitable For Balloon Lovers

  1. cmaukonen

    I am so sorry the hear about you cameras. That is a shame. I do not know your financial situation, how ever you should be able to pick up a replacement even for the DSLR for not much at KEH camera brokers. They are very trust worth and I have purchased cameras and lenses from them for years.

    Or ebay but would not get anything that was not rebuilt/re-manufactured. Too much pig in a poke with ebay sometimes.

    The D70 – better than the D100 – goes for about 70 bucks used from KEH. I had one it was very nice.

    All Nikon/Nikor lenses will fit any Nikon body by the way.

    1. Thanks, C! No, DSLR is not completely gone yet. It just isn’t operating up to par lately. Everything is blurred no matter what the setting, or lighting. I plan on spending a day with it, resetting and testing and playing. The smaller digital can be cheaply replaced, yes, and I should stop putting that off. I miss having a camera around my neck or in my bag. It’s been too long.

      1. cmaukonen

        Autofocus. Check to see it it is on manual focus. And/or put it on manual focus to focus manually of course.

      2. cmaukonen

        There is a little switch on the left side near where the lense is attached to switch from auto focus to manual focus. Sometimes there is a switch on the lens as well. Both have to be se to auto focus.

      3. cmaukonen

        Also there are focus points that can be set. Look it up in you manual. There is a left/right up/down dial that sets them and this is easy to knock to one side ot the other accidentally. Where ithe focus points are is viable in the view finder.

        It is set one side or the other or top or bottom, that is where the camer will focus. leaving tghe center and every thing else out of focus.

  2. I hope you get your camera setting back in shape. I have a Nikon Coolpix. Just right for caring around in my pocket or purse. It does many things. Records and wide shots. I had it almost 2 years and I am still learning things with it. If you have to replace your small camera , take a look at this one. You can find them for under $100 on sale. Mine is pink and beautifully engraved. It reminds me of the 1930’s metal makeup compacts that ladies carried for evening out that dangled from their wrists. A beautiful camera that takes beautiful pictures.

Leave a Reply

