Finnish Perspective

I just finished doing an electronic restoration on an old Hallicrafters S40 communications receiver circa 1947. Replaced all the old paper capacitors and the electrolytic capacitors and a few resisters. I also replaced the audio out put tube and it’s associated components with an audio amplifier module I had since that particular vacuum tube was pretty pricey and the transformer as well.

Where I currently live, I am not to far from the transmitter sites of some local radio stations but this did not seem to bother this radio when I was tuning around and and was able to listen to a station in Toronto Ontario quite well. This was not the case with a much newer Radio Shack DX302 that I had which was over loaded by these close powerful signals to the point of making it nearly useless trying to receive anything on the AM broadcast band.

With…

View original post 705 more words

Leave a Reply

