This is a great quick bread recipe that is easy to make. Enjoy.

Trkingmomoe's Blog

Here is a quick and easy sweet bread to make.  It comes from the WWII edition of The Lilly Wallace New American Cook Book,  published in 1944.   It is recipe 929 on page 214.   This bread is as easy to make as a box cake because of its simple ingredients.  Cake mixes was not manufactured until after the war so many of the recipes I find in this cook book for baked goods are easy and inexpensive.   In the original recipe there is no fat in the ingredients.  I added 1/4 cup of room temperature butter.  While I was measuring out the ingredients mixing this recipe I miss read the amount of sugar then realized after the sugar had been added that I put way too much in.  So I had to quadruple the recipe to make up for it.  I just don’t like to waste.  I divided it…

View original post 157 more words

Leave a Reply

