Blueberry Muffins (Comfort Food)

We have been eating blueberries the past few days on cereal for breakfast and it was time to finish off the blueberries before they spoil.  After I cleaned them, I still had a full cup of them, so I thought of muffins.  That is probably because of all the blogs posted about muffins.  I wanted these to be more like a quick bread muffin and not the sugary and cake type you find at the bakery in the grocery store.  So I adjusted my basic muffin recipe for blueberries and less sweet.  They turned out great with just the right crumb and lightness.  Alton Brown would be proud of me.  He did a whole show on muffins explaining why they are muffins and not cup cakes if they are made from a true muffin recipe.

I chose to make the muffins this time in my heart muffin/cup cake pans.  They were a bargain find after Valentine’s Day several years ago.  I just happen to be in a local hobby shop after some poster board and saw them marked down 75%.  So it only took a second to impulse buy them and I bought 2 because I knew it was a pain in the butt to have only one 6 muffin pan. I have bought a few other pans like that after a holiday. I only purchase ones that I can really get some use out of and they have to be really, really cheap.  Having a few fun things to bake with helps make cooking less of a chore when your budget it limited. It gives a basic diet some pizazz that otherwise would not be there.

Blueberry Muffins

Preheat oven 400 degrees and grease 12 muffin cup pan or use vegetable spray.

Mix together:

1 egg beaten

1/2 cup vegetable oil

3/4 cup milk

1/3 cup sugar

Sift together:

2 cups of flour

1/2 teaspoon of salt

3 teaspoons of baking powder

Gently stir in the flour mixture into the wet ingredients just until they are moistened.

Then gently fold in:

1 cup of blueberries.

Fill 12 muffin cups with batter.  You can sprinkle with a streusal topping or colored sugar if desired. Bake for 20 minutes.

Streusal Topping

1/2 cup flour

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup butter

Mix with hands until blended and crumbly. Sprinkle on muffins.

Please give this recipe a try when you have a few blueberries.

Cross Posted at Trkingmomoe’s Blog

3 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffins (Comfort Food)

  1. ~flowerchild~

    Blueberry picking season will be shortly upon us here in Michigan. There are blueberry farms and pick-your-own places all over. Big fat fresh blueberries you can buy by the pound.
    We like to pick the wild ones. They are smaller and it takes longer to fill your container, but, they are FREE! 🙂

    1. Yum…But the wild ones taste better. When I lived in Ohio I would go and pick my own. I would put them in the freezer and make jam. I got some more food blogs ready and will get a couple up this weekend. Do you like old cook books? I am going to do some diaries on some of the ones I have.

Leave a Reply

