Corn Casserole (Comfort Food)

Image

A couple of years ago, on my local television station,  a local restaurant chef was invited to cook one of the resteraunt’s specialties.  It was one of the upscale eateries in Sarasota, somewhere I would never be able to afford.  The chef went on to tell the host that his corn casserole was one of the most requested items on the menu.  Well that caught my attention, so I ran and got a pencil, to copy down the recipe while he was demonstrating how it was made.  With full attention I started writing down what he was doing. When he got to the box of Jiffy Cornbread mix, I realized I was making the same recipe for years.  I quickly pulled my recipe card and sure enough it was the same recipe.  I got a chuckle out of that because wealthy retirees were paying top dollar for inexpensive comfort food.  The only thing he did different was put a couple of dashes of Tabasco sauce in it, to give it a little heat.  He then pulled out the finished dish and plated it up.  He did the squirt bottle of some kind of red sauce around the edge of the plate and threw a few garnishes on it.  The host loved it as he tasted and said no wonder it was the most requested and what an excellent chef he was.  He probably got the recipe from dear old mom.

Now every time I make this, I still chuckle at that memory.  I used to serve this as a side dish or take it to a pot luck.  Now it has become the main coarse out of necessity and sees me through to the next shopping trip.  As a main dish I usually add crumbled bacon to it or fry a quarter pound of sausage to add.  This way my family is not complaining about eating a meatless dinner.  Today I served it with pickled red beets and pickled eggs to round out the meal.

Corn Casserole

1 can of creamed corn

8 oz. sour cream

1 stick of melted butter or margarine

2 eggs

2 tablespoons of sugar

1 box of Jiffy cornbread mix

1 can of whole kernel corn, drained

1/4 cup red pimento chopped

1/4 cup green bell pepper chopped

1/4 cup onion finely chopped (optional)

fried sausage or bacon crumbled (optional)

salt and pepper to taste

couple of dashes of hot sauce to taste (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a casserole dish, set aside.

Mix the first 6 ingredients with mixer until blended.  Stir in the rest of the ingredients until blended. Pour into prepared casserole and bake for 30 to 35 minutes.  If you use a 13 x 9 inch dish it takes about 10 more minutes to finish baking.  A toothpick should come out clean.  After it is baked the top will settle a little bit, this is normal.

For those of you that have small families or just cooking for one or two.  This can be baked in small casseroles and frozen to eat later in the month.  My mother did this to this recipe after she had a empty nest.

I will post the pickled egg recipe tomorrow.  It is also a yummy pot luck or picnic favorite.

Please give this recipe a try.  You will make over and over again because it is yummy comfort food.

Image

Crossed Post at Trkingmomoe’s Blog

 

9 thoughts on “Corn Casserole (Comfort Food)

  1. cmaukonen

    I do remember a number of dishes that my mother would make and my aunt and grandmother but do not have any of the recipes and doubt that they still exist.

    Like prune whip and brad pudding with raisins and rice pudding (a Finnish favorite, I understand).

    Stuffed cabbage and stuffed green peppers.

    And an old Holiday favorite, suet pudding. I do not have the exact recipe for the suet pudding but we did it an an old prestige pressure cooker. Then topped with what my father called foamy sauce, 1 egg separated into white and yoke beaten separately then combined with sugar, vanilla and beaten together and dripped on top of the pudding.

    “And the pudding Martha, the pudding.”

      1. Your in luck, I am going to make cabbage rolls this week. I just bought the cabbage tonight. I have the original name and the history about it being brought to this country. Also the 1920’s chef that made it famous. I will be making bread pudding one of these days. I will cut the recipe down to your size. I make rice pudding all the time with left over rice in the microwave. It is just beaten egg with milk, sugar, a dash of cinnamon or nutmeg and raisins thrown in to a bowl. It takes about 2 min. on high. It will set up like custard.

  2. I love that back story you provided, LOL! That top chef ain’t got nothin’ on you, Momoe! I will be making this dish shortly, because it just looks so yummy and would fit in my budget. I’m going to take your advice and add a little crumbled sausage for flavor. Thanks!

  3. I always wanted to “Like” this one in particular but since I wasn’t “On” WordPress, I couldn’t. I’ve tried my own variations of several of your receipies and LOVE THEM. Thanx. dru

Leave a Reply

