Strawberry Pies From Fresh Berries

Strawberries are very good for you.  They are ranked 5th in antioxidants and 27th best food in nutrition in the USA.  Antioxidants helps the body to fight inflammation, So it you suffer from gout and other inflammatory conditions, strawberries need to be added to you diet.  There is a lot of goodness packed in those little fruits.  I am not going to list all the nutrients that they contain because there is a lot and I want to get to the recipes.  You can find all that by googling.

The first pie is and old recipe that I have had since I was a kid in the 1950’s.  The pie crust must have it’s roots in Australia’s desert, Pavlova.  It is traditional Christmas treat that is enjoyed with assorted fruits on top of a baked meringue.  This is a low cost dessert that will fit in any budget and will get you many complements.   I loved this pie as a kid.  Some cooks are afraid to make meringue, but it is not hard.  You just have to remember that your bowl and beater need to be real clean and dry before you use the mixer.  When you add your sugar to the beaten eggs you do it slowly.  I haven’t tried using half splenda and half sugar for this so I am not sure it will give you the same results.  To crush the soda crackers just put them in a baggie and roll them with a rolling pin. I throw mine in the food processor.

Fresh Strawberry Meringue Pie

Pre-heat oven to 300 degree and butter or spray a 9 inch pie plate.

3 egg whites

1/2 teaspoon of baking powder

1 cup of sugar

10 soda crackers rolled fine

1 1/2 quarts of strawberries

Whipped cream

Beat egg whites and baking powder until stiff with electric mixer.  Add sugar gradually while beating.  Fold in gently cracker crumbs and then nuts.  Spread in pan and up the sides evenly.  Bake for 30 minutes in a 300 degree oven.  Cool and fill with unsweetened strawberries.  Top with whipped cream if desired.

This next pie is the classic strawberry pie.  The glaze is made with a box of strawberry jello that you can substitute with sugar free jello.  Also you can use splenda instead of sugar.  The 2 tablespoons of light corn syrup just makes it shine.  I just purchase ready made pie crust but you can make your own to meet your dietary needs.  I like graham cracker crust.  I got this recipe in the 1960’s probably from a newspaper or magazine. I keep most of my recipes on index cards so over time I forgot where I copied them from.  I do put the date on the card

Fresh Strawberry Pie

1 pre-baked pie shell or graham cracker pie shell

i cup of sugar

3 tablespoons of cornstarch

1 cup of cold water

2 tablespoons of light corn syrup

1/2 package (3 oz.) strawberry jello

1/2 teaspoon of salt

Few drops of red food coloring

In a saucepan, blend sugar and cornstarch and add water, mixing until smooth.  Add syrup and cook over low heat until thick, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat.  Add jello all at once and a few drops of red food coloring.  Stir to blend.  Cool.  Cover the bottom of the pie shell with a little glaze.  Add prepared strawberries then add rest of the blaze over top. Chill. Serve with whipped cream.

Please give these recipes a try, You can also make these pies in little tart shells. Also lite me know how you like them. Enjoy.

 

Those strawberries was very larg. This was a standard graham cracker pie shell from the store. It took them only a couple of hours to eat this one.

.

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Pies From Fresh Berries

  1. Thanks, Momoe! I didn’t know how healthy strawberries are, so I appreciate your letting me know about that. And I just want to add that I found baking meringue pretty easy when I tried it. I was nervous as hell, but I followed the instructions exactly, and they came out fine.

    1. You should try the meringue pie crust. You can put any kind of fruit in it. It really has nice sweet base for the fresh fruit. There is a little crunch to it. It is one of those pies that has the “wow” factor to it at a covered dish.

      The traditional strawberry pie is nice for sugar free and low calori diets. It is a good recipe to have on file. The glaze can be poured over just a bowl of strawberries to be served with Angel Food cake or the berries by themselves as a low cal treat. It just dawned on me that you could make that glaze in any flavor by just changing the jello and food coloring. Just think glazed low cal peaches served on iceburg lettuce. Low cal pineapple glazed chunks on top of low fat cottage cheese. Do I have you ready to rush out and buy a bag of splenda and sugar free jello?

      Is there any requests you have for recipes. I might have it. I have 50 years worth of recipes of my own plus some heirloom ones. As I was digging through my cards I found some that I thought DD would enjoy and fit into his budget. I am trying to pick out cool and interesting ones also that are very do able.

      I spent some time looking at the sites of the people that said they liked my posts. Is there some way that they search on wordpress for recipes or other topics? I am way behind in this technology.

Leave a Reply

