EATING BETTER FOR LE$$: BY AUNTIE SAM AND DD

EATING BETTER FOR LE$$

The Every ‘DAY’  Guide to Secure Healthy Nutrition for Mind, Body and $aving$

Food Insecurity and Very Low Food Security*:

  • In 2010, 48.8 million Americans lived in food insecure households, 32.6 million adults and 16.2 million children.
  • In 2010, 14.5 percent of households (17.2 million households) were food insecure.
  • In 2010, 5.4 percent of households (6.4 million households) experienced very low food security.
  • In 2010, households with children reported food insecurity at a significantly higher rate than those without children, 20.2 percent compared to 11.7 percent.
  • In 2010, households that had higher rates of food insecurity than the national average included households with children (20.2 percent), especially households with children headed by single women (35.1 percent) or single men (25.4 percent), Black non-Hispanic households (25.1 percent) and Hispanic households (26.2 percent).
  • In 2009, 8.0 percent of seniors living alone (925,000 households) were food insecure.
  • Food insecurity exists in every county in America, ranging from a low of 5 percent in Steele County, ND to a high of 38 percent in Wilcox County, AL.

                                                                                                                                                                                *Per Feeding America

We are attempting to attack a problem here, there and everywhere because too many people do not know how to cook well on a budget.

AUNTIE SAM AND I DISCUSS WITH YOU:

HOW TO EAT BETTER FOR LE$$!

Poorer folks do not eat out or at least they should not!

Take out pizza is ten bucks minimum.

If you ate take out pizza all week (forget delivery, I mean you have to pay a tip) it would cost a minimum $300 a month and you would be receiving one meal a day—or two if you really wish to eat cold pizza at 12 midnite or 600:AM.

Of course, fast food and all processed food meals are loaded with too much of everything bad and very little of what’s good, in taste and nutrition, for us or our wallets.

I have spent hundreds of hours with food channel shows or with Martha over the last few years. I learned a lot from these programs even though I usually attack the subject with satire. And I have learned much from the diner shows, believe it or not.

Now I cook for me! And I can easily eat on $150.00 a month and eat nutritionally.We shall continually discuss how to save money at the grocers.

I would think that two would be able to eat for under $200/$225 a month. If you are living with three teenagers, I think you should need at a minimum $500/month especially if you have active boys! A teen age boy needs 4500 calories a day if he is active as I was in my day but we shall discuss this at length in further episodes—assuming this idea catches on.

Still learning about,but now know enough to be rid of gout, the onset of adult diabetes and a number of other ailments that were created mainly by the food I was eating.

So Auntie Sam and I decided that it might be fruitful for all of us to come together to share/discuss philosophically and realistically the type of diet that one could live on for $150.00 or so a month. These menus would be satisfying, nutritional, cheap and easy to prepare. All the Vitamins A and B’s and C and E and other needs should be taken care of in a 3 meal a day regimen.

Remember physical activity is of the utmost import in deciding a diet regimen. But if you skimp on dietary necessities you are open to arthritis, gout, diabetes, depression, anxiety, heart problems….

We hope to share with you good recipes, including nutrition and other economic assistsinthis endeavor.

Auntie Sam and I would like to begin a real look at nutrition and we welcome every recipe and other ‘food and nutrition fare facts, as well as hints on $aving$ you feel like contributing.  Do you recommend a good coupon site on internet for printable coupons?  Please share.

TO BEGIN:

Ah, spices are so important.  Here is my basic spice and herb list:

Garlic Salt*

Italian seasoning

Cumin

Red Pepper flakes

Salt and Pepper of course

Chili Powder

Dried Onion flakes

Parsley flakes

Cinnamon

(*Auntie reminds me that garlic powder is healthier and more economical.)

If you have other basics that you believe are essential, please tell us.

We’ll continue to give you a ‘pantry’ list including condiments, staples and other foods that best deliver better food and nutrition for less.

But, here’s your first tasty recipe sampling:

My recipe for apple sauce that can be a side with pork or chicken or pancakes or waffles or integrated into a whole wheat coffee cake:

Three apples

Cinnamon

Lemon juice (bottled)

Orange juice

Pare the apples (now while I pare the apples I eat the peelings which are highly nutritious and good fiber for our digestive tracts).

Cut the apples rustically so that some pieces are larger than others.

Put the remaining apple pieces in a pan.

Stick on a low low burner and add a touch of lemon juice, a touch of orange juice and the cinnamon.

Cover with one of those holy pie tins you kept after you purchased a pie.

Check every few minutes, carefully turning the mixture with a wooden spoon.

Ten or fifteen minutes later (depending upon the type of apples you found on sale at the grocers) you turn off the burner. The smaller pieces have become sauce, the larger pieces (which you might even cut a bit) add substance.

There is absolutely no reason to add sugar to this recipe because APPLES ARE MOSTLY SUGAR. hahaha

###

*Toward the beginning of every month I pick up 5 pounds of apples (Now I might wait till the first Sunday when the prices change) and I choose those apples that are on sale. It usually runs me four or five bucks and the bag lasts me a month.

Poached Egg ‘omelets’

2 eggs

crack eggs into poaching ‘cups’

top with your favorite omelet ingredients such as these options:

A bit of shredded cheese and/or

crumbled bacon or small chunks ham, sausage and/or

chopped vegetables like pepper, mushrooms, green onion, etc. and/or

chopped tomato and/or

well, whatever you want

As egg poaches, ingredients cook and blend into top of egg.  Easy clean up, only a small portion of  fats; depending upon your additions to the basic recipe.

You can put on whole wheat toast

(kids and adults love these)

cost – less than $1.00 per serving

CEREAL FACTS:

  • The average preschooler sees 642 cereal ads per year just on television, almost all for cereals with the worst nutrition ratings.
  • Compared to cereals marketed to adults, those marketed to children have 85% more sugar, 65% less fiber, and 60% more sodium.
  • Cereal companies together spend more than $156 million per year marketing to children.
  • Of the ten cereals with the worst overall impact (nutrition and marketing scores combined), six are products from General Mills, three are from Kellogg, and one is from Post.
  • Self-regulation by industry should not forestall needed government action. Self-regulatory pledges by the cereal companies have thus far been weak and have not shielded children from a barrage of messages to eat the least healthy products. Companies should be held accountable for the impact their products have on children.

    IF CEREALS HAVE PRESERVATIVES AND OTHER ‘FAUX’ INGREDIENTS – THESE ARE NOT GOOD FOR YOU.  CHECK INGREDIENTS AND NUTRITION INFORMATION ON PACKAGES.  CEREAL IS EXPENSIVE. STEEL CUT OATMEAL IS INEXPENSIVE AND OH, SO HEALTHY.  TOP WITH A BIT OF FRUIT, BROWN SUGAR, WALNUTS AND YOUR BODY AS WELL AS TASTE BUDS WILL THANK YOU.

Kellogg Mini-Wheats received the best nutrition rating; therefore, it is the only brand to receive a high combined FACT score.

The cereals with the poorest scores based on combined nutrition and marketing impact are Lucky Charms, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Honey Nut Cheerios, Trix, and Reese’s Puffs.

  Coming soon:  Healthy, nutritious and economical homemade cereal recipes.

www.cerealfacts.org.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ii88g-op4xo

>

11 thoughts on “EATING BETTER FOR LE$$: BY AUNTIE SAM AND DD

  1. cmaukonen

    I remember in the late 50s and early 60s my father complaining when we spent more than 60 bucks a month on food for our family of 5 kids and 2 adults.

    Freezers are you friend.

    We would get a side of beef and freeze it up. As well as chicken from the local packing house. This would las nearly all year.

    Veggies and fruit, nearly all local, were frozen as well. Peaches, blackberries – we picked these ourselves.

    Meals were simple.

    The closest I remember to eating out was an ice cream cone at the local soft server place.

    Sometimes when my grandparents on my mother’s side came out, my grandfather would takes us out. But that is all.

    In the summer we would picnic outside or at a local park.

    Breakfast was hot cereal in the winter and cold cereal in the summer.

    My mother would bake. Cookies, cakes, cup cakes and bread.

    No soda unless someone else brought it.

    1. cmaukonen

      Lunches were soup or canned pork & beans or canned pasta in the winter when we were home. Bagged at school – usually a sandwich – cold cuts or PB&J.

      Oh and PB&J is a staple food group. 🙂

      Dinner was outside in the summer cooked on the BarBQ, inside in the oven or on the stove.

      Pasta or beef or ham or chicken or Chinese mix or something similar.

      1. I do not think we ate much differently back then. I recall buying lunch tickets in high school (i had a job)

        35 cents i think.

        We got by.

        I mean as a teen ager in the 60’s I was hungry all the time. hahahah

      2. chris, do you have a favorite recipe you’d like to share?

        and I hope you watched the special ‘cereal’ you tube link – dd outdid himself with that one.

        1. cmaukonen

          I wish I did Aunt Sam. My favorite thing is anything cooked outside on a grill.

          My mother was an RN at the time and worked public health. Her idea of healthy meat was cooking it until it was dry and nasty.

          Did not begin to really like beef until I had it cooked by my father or someone else.

          When I got older and after my father died, I was the griller. So I cooked my mothers stuff the way she liked it and for me and my siblings, so it came out juicy and tasty.

  2. Thank you for starting this. I had been thinking about doing a column for dag like this. My next door neighbor gave me her code to her wifi in exchange for dog sitting. I will.be able to add to your blog. This phone I use has it’s limits. I sat last night with my son’s laptop all night like a kid in a candy store surfing. Strawberries are in season right now and cheap. So I will start there tonight. I live in a poor area but it is not a food desert and I trade recipes cards all the time with friends. The local craft store (Michael ‘s) sells recipe boxes and cards very cheap all year. Wallmart had them at Christmas time. I add hand written recipes on cards to gifts. A blank 4 x 6 index card works well adding a sticker or stamping for decoration. I am working on 4 boxes right now for Christmas gifts. I have an assortment of pretty recipe cards and I make 4 copies of a recipe at a time. It is a nice gift to give when the money is limited. You don’t have to be a good cook to collect good recipes. FannyFarmer was a lousy cook that is why she collected all those recipes and published her famous cook book. I could print them on the cards with a computer using a good print program but there is something very special about a hand written recipe that warms a cook’s heart.

    1. See, this is what I was hoping for.

      You buy strawberries when they are IN SEASON.

      You purchase corn on the cob when they are in season. Do you know that due to global warming corn on the cob went to 33 cents in May? Hell, this will be a fun buy until October! ha

      You purchase certain types of apples, pears, berries when they are in season. You save good solid dollars by doing this and vary your diet!

      And this idea of remembering our friends with recipes and such is priceless!

      We all have something to GIVE.

      Including giving up time for dog sitting. hahahahahaha

      Oh and the web is a wonderful source for recipes. I check the recipe sites from time to time just to verify what in the hell I am doing. haahah

      If it tastes all right (like my pancakes did for brunch) you must be doing something right!

    2. So glad you will be contributing, as we were working on this, dd said he was excited for you to join in! The recipe box and cards are a terrific gift idea. I hope you share this!

Leave a Reply

