I’m Embarrassed. Canada Day. 1 July. Who Knew? Everybody But Me?

I hope I’m not the only one who had no idea that today is Canada Day.
Happy Birthday Canada!!

LINK

Canada Day (French: Fête du Canada), formerly Dominion Day (French: Le Jour de la Confédération), is the national day of Canada, a federal statutory holiday celebrating the anniversary of the July 1, 1867, enactment of the British North America Act (today called the Constitution Act, 1867), which united three British colonies into a single country, called Canada, within the British Empire.[1][2][3] Originally called Dominion Day, the name was changed in 1982, the year that Canada gained full independence from the United Kingdom. Canada Day observances take place throughout Canada as well as internationally.

4 thoughts on “I’m Embarrassed. Canada Day. 1 July. Who Knew? Everybody But Me?

  1. When I was a kid I always wondered about Canada.

    If our war against the Brits (actually two wars) was so important, how did Canada survive?

    Kind of like a parallel universe. I mean if we would have lost the Revolutionary War would it have ended up that bad?

  2. ~flowerchild~

    Yep. Everybody but you, tpc. hahahaha And see that little girl in the picture? The one under the armpit of the woman in the red shirt? Yeah, that one. That little girl is pissed at you for not knowing it’s Canada Day. I’d stay out of Canada if I were you, tpc. Cuz, that little girl is lookin’ for you. And, she ain’t happy.

    😉

    1. I’m embarrassed because I used to go Canada quite a lot for business. That was a while back. This feels like something I must have known once and totally forgot. That happens more than I like anymore. And yes, that little girl isn’t somebody I’d like to run into in a dark alley. 🙂

Leave a Reply

