TPM Cafe Blogs Cost Too Much To Operate?

 This angle was new to me…

Maybe I missed a post during the time leading up to the closing of the Talking Points Memo TPM Cafe blog system.

I don’t recall during that period that the excuse was about operating expenses. If anyone here recalls this as an issue, please correct me.

Plus, and this one is a real boot in the feathers, reading Josh’s reply below to my earlier email, he apparently didn’t/doesn’t think much about any info that was to be gleaned from all the different perspectives by all the different members of the blog.

I personally directed him (by using his email) to quite a few well researched info laden Cafe blogs during the years I was active.

Oh well . . .

~OGD~

__________________________________

  • Re: Attn Josh: Medicare Issue‏

4/22/11 Reply
Josh Marshall

Robert, Maybe we couldn’t afford running that part of the site anymore.  Did that occur to you?  Also email is always the path we’ve found most effective for pulling in reader input and tips.  So I don’t think having the reader blogs still opened would have been an issue one way or another.  Josh

__________________________________

.

3 thoughts on “TPM Cafe Blogs Cost Too Much To Operate?

  1. Well Ducky, LisB told me she is already one million bucks out of pocket running this blog site. hahahahah

    Genghis told me he had to go to the Fed to fund his enterprize!

    I mean let’s get real! hahahahah

    1. LOL!!! Actually, I do recall Josh explaining that the cost of maintaining the Cafe was getting to be too much. I think he meant that in terms of paying his people to de-bug it and monitor it, etc. I could be wrong. How did he put it? It only generated 5% of his readership and so therefore wasn’t cost effective. Isn’t that how he put it?

  2. quinnesq

    “Ra ra rass, kick ‘im in the other ass.”

    Josh blew the reader blogs out his ass, because he got scared after that incident where a reader-blogger got in trouble with the law, and the Right-wing went after the Josh link.

    It was cowardly, and he let them stampede him, because bottomline, he didn’t value it that much. The cost line was always just bollocks.

Leave a Reply

