More News From Nita

A new email I received today from my Rep, Nita Lowey, here in NY.  I love how she clearly spells out the dangers of a government shut down.  I hope more people are aware of just how much harm could be done if the GOP has its way:

Dear Friend,

As you may be aware, Republican demands for spending cuts that will eliminate jobs and slow our economic recovery have raised the prospect of a government shutdown for the first time since 1995.

This week, Congress passed with my support a two-week continuation of funding that includes responsible spending cuts on which Democrats and Republicans agreed.  This was a positive step, but merely kicking the can down the road is not enough.

A government shutdown would cause the furlough of hundreds of thousands of federal employees and contractors, dragging down the economy.  It would likely prevent new retirees from receiving Social Security checks; halt operation of national parks, museums, and monuments; stop processing of visas and passports; halt ongoing medical research at institutions like NIH and CDC; and curtail some veterans’ services.

Please be assured I am working to ensure the government does not shut down, jeopardizing our economic recovery and many services on which Americans depend.

As always, thank you for the opportunity to keep you informed.  Please feel free to contact me by e-mail or follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Sincerely,

Nita Lowey
Member of Congress

5 thoughts on “More News From Nita

  1. You indeed have a really nice congresswoman Lis. The tone of this correspondence speaks volumes. I wish I could say the same. We had a democratic congressman until the last election. Now we have a repub. Useless.

  2. Oh, she’s the best, TPC, she really is. I even “Liked” her page at Facebook so I can follow her there, as well as getting her emails. Sometimes I almost feel guilty when others complain about their useless reps, because as I’ve said before, Nita is so good at what she does, I don’t even have to write to her anymore about something concerns me. She’s on it before I can even put pen to paper (or type her an email, lol).

    They all should be this good.

Leave a Reply

