The Art of Shameless Pandering

Just when you think you’ve seen what you are absolutely certain is the pinnacle of something, somebody comes along and brings to a shambles your illusion of certainty.

And so it is with our illustrious Speaker of the House, the Honorable John Boehner.

In THIS address to the National Religious Broadcasters on Washington’s Spending Binge, Boehner one ups any prior claim to the pinnacle of political pandering.

I’m only going to do a limited block quote of his speech because I worry that those who might read this would become deathly ill or that more might pollute the liberal sacredness of Paradigm for all eternity. For the odd closet masochist among us you’ll have to click the link to get your kicks.

I’ll not comment on this address except to say the nauseous sweet ickiness of the speakers words verily make me gag.

I give you Mr. Boehner:

“Thank you all very much.

“Dr. Wright, thank you for the warm welcome. I was humbled by your invitation to address this gathering, and honored to accept.

“It’s good to see my Tennessee colleagues Marsha Blackburn and Diane Black. Thank you for being here.

“Let me say, I admire NRB’s efforts to take God’s message of hope and healing abroad, to parts of Asia, Latin America, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East. It’s important work.

“Now, I understand you’re here to hear from me, but it is hearing from you that has given me greater understanding. And I’m grateful for that.

“Like anyone with a new job, I’m often asked ‘how does it feel,’ or ‘how’re things different?’ More than anything else, I’m humbled by the trust and confidence placed in me.

“Humility isn’t something you ‘do,’ of course. It’s how you live. It’s putting your faith in a gracious and sovereign God.

“‘No man can serve two masters’ was the message from Matthew this morning. ‘Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.’

“That passage got me thinking about how America was founded on humility. Patrick Henry’s fiery appeal to his countrymen is remembered for its closing, ‘Give me liberty or give me death.’

“Often left out of our textbooks is what came before that, when Henry first appealed to the ‘just God who presides over the destinies of nations.’

“Faith in the Almighty gave our forefathers the courage to secure freedom for themselves and future generations. Not long after completing the Declaration of Independence, Jefferson started on another manuscript, one proclaiming religious freedom for the people of Virginia. ‘Almighty God hath created the mind free,’ he began.

2 thoughts on “The Art of Shameless Pandering

    1. Who the hell indeed Dick. I think we got a Frankenstein in our midst. If not in the person of John Boehner then of the entire republican party. After all, the party seems to have gone through some strange transmogrification for which there is no explanation.

      We’ve seen the signs of this but failed to recognize them. Boehner’s odd skin tone coloration is something which should have been examined a bit closer. We need to be wary of this color shifting thing in the future. I’m going to mark that in my book and be sure to keep a look out for persons exhibiting strange coloration changes and bizarre political commentary.

Leave a Reply

